Welcome to Styria

© Kurt Kulac, Leopoldsteinersee; © Steiermark Tourismus | R. Lamm; © Steiermark Tourismus | photo-austria.at; © Acp, Klapotetz

As far as area is concerned, Styria is the second-largest federal state of Austria and with regard to population the fourth-largest. Styria is divided into several regions – the largest one by area is in the north, called “Obersteiermark” (Upper Styria). To the south, west of the river Mur, there is “Weststeiermark” (Western Styria). “Oststeiermark” (Eastern Styria) is located south of the “Wechsel” and the “Fischbacher Alpen”, east of the river Mur. And between “Oststeiermark” and “Weststeiermark” there is Graz, the capital of Styria.

Styria is also called the “Green State” or the ”Green Heart of Austria”, because 57.2% of the land area are covered with wood and one fourth of the total area consists of meadows, pastures, orchards, and vineyards

What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters
compared to what lies within us.
(O.W. Holmes

© Graz Tourismus; © AleXXw, Österreich, Steiermark hervorgehoben; © Wolfgang Glock, Stubenberg See; © Steiermark Tourismus | www.bigshot.at



© Steiermark Tourismus

Further information on Styria you will find at:
Steiermark Tourismus
St. Peter Hauptstraße 243, A-8042 Graz
Tel.: +43 (0)316/4003-0
FAX: +43 (0)316/4003-30
info@steiermark.com, www.steiermark.com